Athens School Board welcomes new, returning members

New Athens School Board members Kevin Rude and Lisa Braund, and returning members John Cheresnowsky, Chuck Frisbie, and Kathy Jo Minnick are sworn in by Bradford County President Judge Maureen Beirne as part of Tuesday’s reorganization meeting. A third new board member, Brendon Hitchcock, who was elected to a Region I seat in November, withdrew his name “based on the fact that I have presented myself as a candidate for employment in the school district.” In his announcement, Hitchcock thanked the Athens community for their votes and wished the administration and board members well. John Johnson was reappointed as school board president while long-time school board member Lonnie Stethers was appointed as vice president, and Cheresnowsky was selected as the board’s new treasurer.