The pits were full of race teams, the driveway into the spectator area was lined with cars, Forbe’s Machine Shop in Wysox was on hand with the hardware for the winning drivers in Friday night’s Mid Season Championship events...and then...with a nod to Garth Brooks...”the thunder rolls, and the lightning strikes...”

It was soon apparent that any hopes of on track action were gone, and The Hill Speedway management reluctantly pulled the plug.

Now it will be two weeks before those trophies can be competed for. In a nod to the Troy Fair, The Hill Speedway has a planned night off on Friday, July 26. The 30 lap Mid Season Championship races for all divisions are rescheduled to August 2nd, with WOC Energy providing the sponsorship. Forbe’s Machine Shop night will move to August 23.

For all competitors and fans that were on hand this week, put your wristbands in a safe place, track management will honor them for entry at any upcoming event scheduled for the remainder of the 2019 season.

As we prepare for the rescheduled races, a review of the points standings needs to be done. With six races complete so far this season, the points battles are heating up in every division. Close competition in all classes and many different feature winners listed have kept the year end awards in doubt.

MODIFIED... With three wins, Jack Lamphere is atop the leader board in this class, but he can’t breathe easy just yet. Jake Maynardk is less than thirty points back in second, and has already been to Victory Lane once this season. Likewise, Eddie Sites in third has a win, and if Lamphere has one bad night, especially on a double points night, either of these two could vault to the top of the standings. Mathmatically speaking, defending Champion Gary Lamphere in fourth, and fifth place Keith Lamphere aren’t out of the running, either. The remaining top ten are Jason Benjamin, Harry Ely, J.W. Lamphere, Logan Terry, and Bobby Maynard.

CRATE SPORTSMAN...Waverly’s Chris Clemen’s hasn’t pulled into the Winner’s Circle yet this season, but consistant finishes have put the unsponsored privateer at the top of the points standings, but by a slim margin. Rick Powell in second, and Dalton Maynard in third each have a win recorded this year, and both would like to double up in a competitive division that has seen five different winners in six features run. Ajay Potrezbowski (two wins) and Dayton Brewer (one win) are fourth and fifth, and while they could improve their standings, have dropped from contention for the Championship. Braden Buchanan is sixth, Ray Smith seventh, Rich Talada eighth, Grant Hilfiger ninth, and Randy Fox tenth.

STREET STOCK...Earl Zimmer has translated his four feature wins into a solid lead in the points standings, and while anything can happen, the points race looks to be a battle for second through fifth. Dustin Maynard cruised into Victory Lane on June 29th, laying claim to second in points, but Street Stock rookie Mike Koser has been improving weekly and is within striking distance of the runnerup spot. Koser is feeling the pressure from Dan Force and Rich Sharpsteen as third through fifth is separated by thirty four points. Bill Tice, Bobby Maynard, Cody Kershner, Chad Ely, and Abe Romanick round out the top ten.

PURE STOCK... While this division has only had their own feature for the past three weeks, the number of competitors is growing and the competition is fierce with three different drivers recording feature wins. Chris Woodard, with one win, sits atop the leader board, but Les Smith, who has yet to grab a feature flag, is only twenty points back in second. Third through tenth is separated by only fifty points, making for a lot of movement in the coming weeks. Cole Burgess is third, Mike Chilson is fourth, and Duane Bailey is fifth. Sixth through tenth are Kevin Garland, Cliff Miller, Daltyn Decker, Jimmy Hollister, and Kenny Benjamin Jr.

FRONT WHEEL DRIVE FOUR CYLINDER...The competition and parity in this class has provided some great racing, and right now any one of four drivers could jump to the top of the list with one good night. Matt Browning currently leads the way, but defending Champion Adam Delgrosso, Devon Bailey, and Trevor Williams all are within reach of the Season Championship trophy. Matt McKernan, who won the first two features of the season, sits fifth, mostly due to destroying his car and not yet returning with a replacement. Tim Johnson is sixth, Owen Clark seventh, Mike Ely eighth, Burt Maynard ninth, and Greg McKernan tenth.

REAR WHEEL DRIVE FOUR CYLINDER...Only a ten point spread covers the top three in this class, and it’s still anyone’s guess who will prevail over the next few weeks. Joe Lane has three feature wins, and leads by four points over Larry Colton who has two. Scott Bump is third, in reach of the title, but has yet to visit Victory Lane in a feature. Alan Blackwell has a feature win, but missing a week has put him back in fourth. Mike Navone rounds out the top five. Sixth through tenth are Tony Dickerson, Tyler Belcher, Robert Decker, Stan Mathews, and Eric Ellsworth.

The Hill Speedway is a one quarter mile dirt surface oval track located adjacent to the Dunn Hill Road-Banks Road intersection just a couple miles off SR414 in Monroeton, PA. It presents auto racing, with six different classes of competition, on Friday nights throughout the summer. Gates open at 5pm, practice is at 6:30, with competition scheduled to begin at 7pm.

Join us and experience the “Thrill on the Hill”...and bring a friend.