This year saw three area swimmers earn medals at their respective state meets.

On the boys’ side Sayre’s Josh McClelland and Waverly’s Mike Atanasoff both medaled at states, making them the Co-Swimmers of the Year.

The Girls’ Swimmer of the Year is Notre Dame’s Catherine Craig, who also medaled at the New York State Championships.

The Boys’ Diver of the Year is Waverly’s Gage Streeter, who missed qualifying for states by tenths of a point.

The Girls’ Diver of the Year is Athens’ Taylor Walker, who did qualify for the state meet by taking second at the District IV Championships.

The two Newcomers of the Year are both from Athens — Brooke Kopatz for the girls and Kaden Gorsline on the boys’ side.

The boys’ first team consists of McClelland (200 free, 50 free, 500 free), Atanasoff (200 IM, 100 free, 100 breaststroke), Streeter (diving), Waverly’s Kaden Wheeler (100 fly, 100 backstroke) and the Athens diving duo of Gorsline and Kyle Anthony as wildcards.

Waverly earned all three relay spots: 200 medley relay (Wheeler, Trent Wright, Ryan Bennett and Atanasoff), the 200 free relay (Bennett, Max VanDyke, Collin Keefer and Atanasoff) and the 400 free relay (Atanasoff, Keefer, VanDyke and Wheeler).

On the second team is VanDyke (200 free, 100 free), Keefer (200 IM, 500 free), Wellsboro’s Brennan Warner (50 free, 100 backstroke, 100 breaststroke), Sayre’s Joe Stermer (diving) and Athens’ Trent Nevill (100 fly).

On the third team is Towanda’s Kaigan Stroop (200 free), Waverly’s Oscar Williams (200 IM), Bennett (50 free, 100 free, 100 fly), Towanda’s John Schrader (diving), Athens’ Zac Gowin (500 free), Wright (100 breaststroke) and Waverly’s Jerrell Sackett (100 backstroke).

Five underclassmen to watch for next year are Towanda’s Jayden Wise, Athens’ Mason Henderson, Sayre’s Ryan Maxim and the Waverly duo of Liam Wright and Williams.

On the girls’ side the first team consists of Craig (200 free, 200 IM, 100 fly, 100 free, 500 free, 100 backstroke, 100 breaststroke), Waverly’s Kennedy Wheeler (50 free), Walker (diving), Towanda’s Erica Locke (500 free wildcard), Notre Dame’s Caroline Rogers (500 free wildcard) and Sayre’s Kayla Kittle (50 free wildcard).

Notre Dame earned two of the relay spots: the 200 medley relay (Craig, Rogers, Allie O’Brien and Alex Welliver) and the 400 free relay (Craig, Rogers, O’Brien and Welliver).

Waverly’s 200 free relay of Starr Harford, Wheeler, Maggie Whitley and Willow Sharpsteen).

The second team consists of Sayre’s Jillian Shay (200 free), Waverly’s Lourden Benjamin (200 IM), Wellsboro’s Cathryn Brought (50 free, 100 free), Sayre’s McKenzie Wilkerson (diving), Whitley (100 fly), Harford (500 free), O’Brien (100 backstroke) and Kopatz (100 breaststroke).

On the third team are Towanda’s Emily Morris (200 free), Waverly’s Abigail Durgin (200 IM), Sayre’s Kayla Hughey (50 free, 100 free), Towanda’s Mary Smiley (diving), Waverly’s Lillian Keefer (100 backstroke), Welliver (500 free), Athens’ Lauren Nevill (100 fly) and North Penn-Mansfield’s Brenna White (100 breaststroke).

The five underclassmen to watch are Athens’ Raven McCarthy-Gardner and Sierra Ardrey, Towanda’s Ava Gannon and Jordyn Radney and Waverly’s Delaney Vascoe.